February 4, 2014

Review: The Collection by Shannon Stoker

February 4, 2014
Title: The Collection
Series: The Registry #2
Author: Shannon Stoker
Publisher: William Morrow/Harper Collins
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction

How far would you go to control your own destiny?

Mia Morrissey has escaped: America, the Registry, and the role she was raised for— a perfect bride auctioned to the highest bidder. She’s enemy number one to the world’s largest power, and there’s no turning back now.

From the moment she and her friends Andrew, and Carter cross the border into Mexico it becomes clear their troubles are only beginning. The young men are immediately picked up by a violent and omnipotent militia—The Collection—and it’s Mia’s turn to rescue them.

With time running out, her ex-fiancĂ©’s henchman on her trail, and a dangerous tide shifting back in America, Mia will do whatever she has to. Even if that means risking everything and putting herself back on an auction block. The price of freedom is never too high…but what if the cost is her life?


The Registry trilogy may be a dystopian, but it branches out to a different area of the genre than what is usually done in books and on the big screen. It's not completely organic, but it is still refreshing to see another side of a dystopian world. As always, the government that replaced the tarnished world after it went down, is more corrupt than what it was originally. Thus, the registry is born. Which brings us to the fact that, by creating the registry, their world has become more sexist than ever before. I'm talking about women being auctioned off to bidders to be the lady on a man's arm, but it's not as glamorous as a trophy wife. Knowing these men, they will control their every move. Unfortunately for our main character Mia, she was entered in the registry and was sold to Grant -- the worst of them all and next in line to be Chancellor. The Collection is the follow-up to The Registry trilogy. After learning the truth, motives and plans, Mia escapes.

The Collections follows Mia, Andrew and Carter are on the run. While the group are on the run, they run into a few roadblocks along the way. After all, nothing in life comes easy. Plans go awry, escape transportation crashes, kidnapping and Mexican military militia are only the beginning of their troubles. Someone had sent Mia a godsend in form of Riley, an Irish Operative. It is then that Riley shows Mia that there is a whole world outside of the registry. We venture out to new territory that we didn't even know existed. Through this time we see Mia grow -- her character, mentality, mindset and goals to change whats become their world. She's learning and growing into a stronger and independent woman who figured out that life isn't about vanity and materialistic things like she was used to in the first book. She now has seen all the bad and honest brutality of the real side of what life really is, and realized that it's not at all about the materialistic things but about fighting for what's right and the rights to freedom. Mia learns to stand on her own and does just that. And with the help of the secondary characters, they become essential assets in the story by fighting by Mia's side. I loved that they are more present and involved in this one.

All the while, Mia's ex-fiance Grant is hot on her tail with one thing on his mind. After a blow to his ego by running from him, Grant wants Mia dead. (He's a pig-headed hot-head in my opinion who needs a high five in the face with a baseball bat). We dive into Grant's mind in his POVs, and you can see how evil to the bone and damaged he really is. He will do whatever it takes to show her and every female out there that no one beats him or any man. It's become a battle of not only freedom, but for Mia's life as well.

The things we do for freedom. I have faith that Mia will find a way come out on top and knock Grant off his pedestal. Free women of the chains of the registry and restore the country back to the freedom and equality that it was originally. The world-building, growth the characters go through and the direction of the story will keep you on your toes, looking forward to see what will happen next. That's what I like to see in a cruel and bleak world such as this. It made for a compelling read. I'm honestly nervous-anxious-excited to see how the trilogy will end.

I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review, however, it does not influence my review nor am I being compensated. I want to thank Harper Collins for the copy.

Purchase The Collection

About the Author

Shannon Stoker lives in DeKalb, IL. She received her undergraduate and law degree from Northern Illinois University where she now works as the Research Integrity Coordinator. It's not a stretch to say she's a die hard Huskie fan!

When she's not working or writing Shannon spends the majority of her time playing with her terrier mix Nucky or her husband.

She loves watching horror movies, including those straight to DVD classics most people never heard of. If she wasn't an attorney or an author she would have been a beautician and is constantly bugging her friends to come over and let Shannon play with their hair.

The Registry trilogy


The Alliance is due to release September 2, 2014!
Paper Charade © 2014